Penang Christian Centre Family Camp in Cameron Highlands Part 2

12 Dec

After “suffering” from the cold, bitter night in Desmond’s house (no fans and air-conditioners), I managed to wake up at 7:30 in the morning, with runny nose. We had breakfast in Equatorial Hotel and the breakfast was surprisingly good, and we had quite a lot, despite having only 20 minutes to enjoy. Here are some pictures that I took while having breakfast:

 

Well, it is not really a coffee shop, but more of a multi-function hall, oh well! After having the breakfast, we had on to the main ballroom to continue worship God with more songs and some Christmas Carols. Next, we, youths, headed to the Cameron Safari Club again, to hear the sermon by Pastor Felix Chuah.

This time, the sermon is on How to Hear God’s Voice, this sermon is actually continued from last night’s sermon and I was drawn again by his sermon, because I can learn more about God through this sermon, which was so meaningful to me and to every youth in there. I understand that, we cannot hear God’s voice if we are uncertain.

From Habakkuk 2:1, it stated that:

…I will look to see what he will say to me,

and what answer I am to give to this complaint.

The first key in hearing God’s voice is that we need to recognize God’s voice (still, small voice) with spontaneous thoughts or flows. God’s voice may vary from people to people, but God definitely will let us listen to Him, if we want.

The second key is we need to be quiet and be still. From 2 Kings 3:14, it is stated:

…As surely as the Lord Almighty lives, whom I serve, if I did not have respect for the presence of Jehoshaphat king of Judah, I would not look at you or even notice you.

In that book, Elisha used a harpist to quiet himself, and so, we can learn from him, to put some worship or calmer songs, and lie down quietly and listen to the word of the Lord. How amazing would it be to listen to the word of the Lord Himself.

Next, we can look for visions from God and write or journal it down the visions. God can sometimes give us a glimpse of vision for us, and it is best to journal, to witness the wonders that God can do. Share the testimony with the others, as we share the words of the Lord.

The pastor asked us to sit on a place in the Cameron Safari Club and asked us to close our eyes. You should try this too! Just close your eyes and asked

Lord, What would You like to say to me?

Ask the Lord this question, and He can probably give you the answer or a short vision. This was my first time, asking Him this kind of question, so I tried it out anyway. Desmond and his 3 cousins did it too but we did not have answer. However, it doesn’t mean that God didn’t respond to us, it is just the matter of time! Some youth got an answer from Lord and I remembered one girl saying that : “Lord responded to me saying, ‘I love you’!” At one point, I kind of envied the girl for having the ‘special’ ability’ to hear God’ voice, but then I know that God responded to people differently.

It is lunch break time, and we had some local delicacies in the multi-function hall again. I don’t want to comment much about the food because the food is just above average. I took some pictures in Equatorial Hotel, after having lunch:

The next agenda is Team Building, and I was assigned to be in Group 11, which I really hated it, because I was separated from Desmond and his 3 cousins, but I didn’t know that Samuel’s parents were in the same group with me. Raised Eyebrow

We, youth, headed to the 4th floor of the building, to continue to hear the sermon after dinner. This sermon is very special to me, because what happened after the sermon is certainly unbelievable, indescribable and amazing. This sermon is focused in 1 King 17:1 and 1 King 18:1, where Elijah is the main character in the sermon.

Through the sermon, we learned that:

  • we need to prepare ourselves by totally dependant on God.
  • we need to start trusting God 100%.
  • we must willingly to change.
  • we are not alone.
  • we must be humble.
  • we must stay low and let God bring us up.
  • we can never give up in problems.
  • we must keep on praying, asking and God will give you revival.

After the meaningful sermon, the pastor asked us to put aside everything, and asked us to sing songs and he will pray for us. The pastor began to pray for us as we were singing the songs. Suddenly, one of my friends fainted, and I thought he collapsed due to exhaustion but it turned out that he felt God’s presence as the pastor was praying for him. All I heard from the pastor’s mouth was, “Fire! Stir him up!” over and over again.

As I was singing the songs, I felt my tears coming out, which I had never do so before while singing, and the tears didn’t taste like normal ones. In fact, it was tasteless and my body started to shake like I was cold. I moved position, not standing below the air-cond, and my body still shook. At that point, I felt like God gave me a hint on His presence. I instantly felt Him somewhere beside me, and the whole room was filled with His presence. I was touched, and more tears came out, and I sincerely prayed to Him, asking him to forgive all my wrongdoings and sins. It was a never-before-felt moment, which I will never forget for the rest of my life. I truly believe in God now, and I believed that God gave me an answer to the questions I asked, earlier this morning.

I was so moved and touched, and I was speechless. I never felt His presence before, and… (In fact, I am lost in words again!) Although I did not speak in tongue like the others did, I prayed deep down in my heart, and asked God to clear away my doubts, and to have faith in Him!

Desmond, too, lost conscious when the pastor’s wife prayed for him and I didn’t feel surprised anymore, I was so happy that God revealed His presence to everyone in the room. More and more youths cried, some collapsed, some touched by God, and some even shouted like they were possessed but I know, that they just want to let everything out. God, thank you for answering my questions and clearing away my doubts.

I was completely mesmerized, touched, and moved by God’s presence. The feeling was indescribable, amazing, magnificent, marvelous and superb that I cannot describe everything I felt in my blog.

At the end of the night, many cried but it was worth a while to cry out to Lord, and that moment was really remarkable, which no one can ever forget about it. For me, doubting God in the beginning was a foolish choice made, and I regretted it.

Now, praise the Lord for showing His presence to me. That day was a conversion day to me, from a Christian, not knowing about God, to a one, that believes God is everything!

Amen, Amen! Hallelujah!

There is still more for the third day of this camp. Stay tuned.

2 Responses to “Penang Christian Centre Family Camp in Cameron Highlands Part 2”

  1. dnomseD December 13, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Yeah, i also have a hard time describing God’s touch!

    He is too wonderful!

    Actually, I had been praying for God to touch you someday, and I just couldn’t truly believe it when He really did it!

    He answered my prayer!

    God guide you always!

  2. brandonks December 14, 2008 at 5:36 pm #

    Amen, Desmond! Your prayers are clearly answered.

    May the Good Lord bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

