Test Aftermath

26 Mar

Holidays are over. The sweet times are over. However, the sweet times will be overlapped by devastating test results when we got back to school. I was sure there were ups and downs in my results, but I was hoping i would not fail any of my subjects. I prayed to God and hoped for the best for my results.

I would like to ask again: Since when Form 4 is a honeymoon year? Duh!

The subjects which I was really afraid of were Additional Mathematics and Biology. I hoped for the best for the other subjects.

It took us three days for us to know our results.

I was very disappointed with my English! A lot of classmates obtained 90+ for English Test, and I only got 88! I know I am making a mountain out of a mole hill but I did not expect to fall short from my friends. My teacher kept advising me not to be so sad but I was close to tears when I saw the name list. Actually, the English Paper was a mess! My teacher even said so, it was great disappointment to the English teachers in Chung Ling High School. There were so many grammatical mistakes in the paper that I would like to point out a few only:

A) “Be silent, you talk _________!” (folly, dump, nonsense, stupidity)

Folly – lack of good sense or normal prudence and foresight

Actually, I can choose not to answer this question! There is simply no solution to this stupid question. The real “bonus” answer was dumb. Whoever set this paper was careless enough to mistake “b” as “p”. Even so, there is a syntax error in this sentence. “Be silent, you talk dumb!” There is no meaning to this sentence, if I may emphasize again.

Correct Sentence: Be silent, you are talking nonsense!

B) This fantastic house was ________ of numerous rooms… (Consisted, made up)

These two words carry almost the same meaning.

C) This fantastic house was ________ of numerous rooms, stairways and ________ windows. (2nd blank: Coloured, Tainted, Stained)

Again, who never says “Stained windows” but “Coloured Windows”? This is pretty insane not to search for a better word to fill in the blanks.

Biology was below average for me. I love Biology and the stuffs in it, so fun yet interesting. Perhaps the teacher who set the questions set tricky questions out from the syllabus. That is where we all  could not answer well in this paper, including me. I nearly failed my Biology with only 68.

I was quite happy with the other subjects, assuming that they were equally hard as my seniors told me so. Luckily, I did not fail any subjects. 🙂

Our Chinese Debate Finals are getting closer, and I hope we are prepared for the battle!

3 Responses to “Test Aftermath”

  1. dnomsed March 28, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    Woo~ Why compare with friends? …

    God allows this for you…[or us] to show us that we CANNOT win all the time! Even Jie En got not-so-good results. If you always want to compare and compete with some things that are not all so important, we’ll end up going the wrong way!

    Hope you come to know that God has a better plan ahead! He can guide you to a better future, but you gotta do your best for him, and not be let down by failure.

    God bless!
    [Please remember that God is faithful in you, no matter what you do… Let it go, and move on, that I may see the smiling Brandon I knew.]

  2. Brandon March 28, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    I’ve been brought up from a family that requires me to get good results. Although I know I did my best, I still think that I must work harder the next time.

    It is hard for me to change in that position. I feel very unconfortable if i don’t improve from what I am. People have to change for the better.

    Somehow, you talk like my English teacher, Desmond. One day, you can be a good youth leader. God bless you. 🙂

  3. Yao Qiang March 28, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    I haven’t felt really entangle to exams before.
    I just really care how the people that put their hopes on me would feel and also to prove to the ones that looked down on me that I’m good!
    And Darius (Desmond brother) is a inspiration to me. I would like to be on the newspaper like him and have an article dedicated to myself on the paper. Other than that, the best part is the interview.
    Although I know the hope is not high for now as I still did not even achieve all A or even B for my results.
    Anyway it’s just “hangat-hangat tahi ayam” for me.

Leave a Reply

